Dash Mobile iBeacon Support - How It Will Work

• So we are integrating iBeacon Support into Dash Mobile! It will communicate to your URC Controller when events occur allowing you to create micro-presence solutions. Now I'm still learning this but here is generally how iBeacon Works!

1. iBeacons will have a UUID. This is meant to identify the location and separate events from picking up any bluetooth devices it may find. Generally you will set all your iBeacons to the same UUID and this number will henceforth be ignored.

2. iBeacons have a "MAJOR" and "MINOR" number available to them. These are ID's that essentially work as "Category" and "ID." In our case we will likely generally use MAJOR as a "Zone" and MINOR as a number to identify the specific beacon. For example, lets look at how we may setup our Beacons:

MAJOR 1 = First Floor

• MINOR 1 = Kitchen
    • MINOR 2 = Office
    • MINOR 3 = Bathroom

MAJOR 2 = Second Floor

• MINOR 1 = Living Room
    • MINOR 2 = Guest Bedroom

MAJOR 3 = Third Floor

• MINOR 1 = Master Bedroom
    • MINOR 2 = Master Bathroom

There we have it. Now that we have done this we will be able to start monitoring which devices are in which areas! I will update with more information as the solution matures.

Here we can see Dash OS Module receiving iBeacon data as I walk into my bathroom! This isn't how it will look when finished, but just an example showing that the solution is pretty much completed other than the final polish.

upload-5875da91-5367-447a-87c1-52dc097589be

--
    Braden R. Napier

Views

• iBeacons accuracy reading (meters) can not be entirely accurate. It will be important to understand how that works and I will try to make the API within Accelerator extremely straight forward. As of right now I will be sending "deviation" as likely the main processor. It will determine if the user is getting closer or further from the beacon and will only report if the reports are consistent enough that they appear to be accurate.